Special Exits
Special Exits
Farmer, Joyce
product information
Condition: New, UPC: 9781606997604, Publication Date: Fri, August 1, 2014, Type: Paperback ,
join & start selling
description
1In the vein of Alison Bechdel or Harvey Pekar, Joyce Farmer's memoir chronicles the decline of the author's parents' health, their relationship with one another and with their daughter, and how they cope with the day-to-day emotional fragility of the most taxing time of their lives. Set in southern Los Angeles (which makes for a terrifying sequence as blind Rachel and ailing Lars are trapped in their home without power during the 1992 Rodney King riots), Farmer details the slow, inexorable decline in Lars' and Rachel's health, and perfectly captures the timbre of the exchanges between a long-married couple: the affectionate bickering; their gallows humor; their querulousness as their bodies break down.
reviews

Be the first to write a review

member goods

No member items were found under this heading.

notems store

The Raven Wheel

by Stone, A. F.

Paperback /Paperback

$11.39

Colouring In

by Stewart, Nigel

Paperback /Paperback

$10.77

Summer of Love and Evil

by Kinnamon, Michael

Paperback /Paperback

$12.71

Newsworthy: Poems

by Mouton, Deborah D. E. E. P.

Paperback /Paperback

$13.50

listens & views

DIRT BAND: JEALOUSY

by NITTY GRITTY DIRT BAND

VINYL LP

out of stock

$9.75

HIGH VIOLET (COLV) (CVNL) (PURP) ...

by NATIONAL

VINYL LP

out of stock

$40.99

RETROSPECTIONS 3

by JPL

COMPACT DISC

out of stock

$17.49

CARVINGS

by SCOTT,SHANNON BAND

COMPACT DISC

out of stock

$5.75

Return Policy

All sales are final

Shipping

No special shipping considerations available.
Shipping fees determined at checkout.